Chief Investigators

Chief Investigators

Sujeeva Setunge
Hub Director
RMIT University

sujeeva.setunge@rmit.edu.au

 

  • Development of smart technologies for waste management
  • Development of smart technologies for the end user
  • B2B and supply chain issues for waste derived goods within governmental bodies and Lgas
  • Recycled polypropylene packaging composites
  • Water based paint waste as an additive to geopolymer concrete
  • Material modelling, accelerated testing and field trials for concrete and asphalt incorporating waste
  • Novel light-weight modular formwork systems for concrete structures
  • Behaviour of glass fibre reinforced polymer (GFRP) confined recycled aggregate concrete piles
  • New fire protection materials from industrial waste
  • The use of brown coal pond ash as a replacement of cement in concrete masonry bricks
  • Robotic intelligence for construction waste sorting

Priyan Mendis
Deputy Director
University of Melbourne
pamendis@unimelb.edu.au

 

  • Graphene advanced applications
  • Advanced manufacturing of prefabricated SIP systems using recycled plastics and bio products
  • Advanced chemical recycling and upcycled products for low-value residue and

Chamila Gunasekara
Partnership & Scientific Program Manager
RMIT
chamila.gunasekara@rmit.edu.au

 

  • Upcycled textile waste used as construction material in concrete applications
  • Material modelling, accelerated testing and field trials for concrete and asphalt incorporating waste
  • Behaviour of glass fibre reinforced polymer (gfrp) confined recycled aggregate concrete piles
  • New fire protection materials from industrial waste
  • The use of brown coal pond ash as a replacement of cement in concrete masonry bricks
  • Optimising efficiency of using construction and demolition waste in aerated bricks
  • Use of expanded polystyrene (eps) in concrete and lightweight masonry bricks

Bre-Anne Sainsbury
Deakin
breanne.sainsbury@deakin.edu.au

  • Waste tyre reinforcement of construction materials within mining operations

David Law
RMIT
david.law@rmit.edu.au

  • Upcycled textile waste used as construction material in concrete applications
  • Material modelling, accelerated testing and field trials for concrete and asphalt incorporating waste
  • The use of brown coal pond ash as a replacement of cement in concrete masonry bricks
  • Optimising efficiency of using construction and demolition waste in aerated bricks

Dilan Robert
RMIT
dilan.robert@rmit.edu.au

  • Material modelling, accelerated testing and field trials for concrete and asphalt incorporating waste

Dilanthi Amaratunga
University of Huddersfield
D.Amaratunga@hud.ac.uk

  • Development of smart technologies for waste management

Ehsan Asadi
RMIT

ehsan.asadi@rmit.edu.au

  • Robotic intelligence for construction waste sorting

Filippo Giustozzi
RMIT
filippo.giustozzi@rmit.edu.au

  • Material modelling, accelerated testing and field trials for concrete and asphalt incorporating waste

Hao Wang
University of Southern Queensland

Hao.Wang@usq.edu.au

 

  • Recycled polypropylene packaging composites
  • Development of commercial applications of fly ash and slag based geopolymer concrete
  • Waste treatment solutions for plastics
  • Use of expanded polystyrene (EPS) in concrete and lightweight masonry bricks

 

Hou Lei
RMIT
lei.hou@rmit.edu.au

  • Robotic intelligence for construction waste sorting

Jude Perera
University of Melbourne

  • Advanced chemical recycling and upcycled products for low-value residue and mixed plastic

Kalpit Shah
RMIT
kalpit.shah@rmit.edu.au

 

  • Essential oil, bioenergy and biochar production from nuts and botanicals

Kate Nguyen
RMIT
kate.nguyen@rmit.edu.au

 

  • New fire protection materials from industrial waste

Kevin Zhang
RMIT
kevin.zhang@rmit.edu.au

 

  • Robotic intelligence for construction waste sorting
  • Optimising efficiency of using construction and demolition waste in aerated bricks

Mayuri Wijayasundara
Deakin
mayuri@deakin.edu.au

 

  • B2B and supply chain issues for waste derived goods within governmental bodies and Lgas

Michael Polonsky
Deakin
michael.polonsky@deakin.edu.au

 

  • B2B and supply chain issues for waste derived goods within governmental bodies and Lgas
  • Development of smart technologies for waste management

Namita Roy Choudhury
RMIT
namita.choudhury@rmit.edu.au

  • Recycled polypropylene packaging composites
  • Water based paint waste as an additive to geopolymer concrete

Pubudu Pathirana
Deakin
pubudu.pathirana@deakin.edu.au

 

  • Development of smart technologies for waste management

Ralph Horne
RMIT
ralph.horne@rmit.edu.au

 

  • B2b and supply chain issues for waste derived goods within governmental bodies and Lgas           
  • Social and policy dimensions of waste minimisation and waste management

Sadeep Thilakarathne
University of Melbourne

 

  • Advanced manufacturing of prefabricated SIP systems using recycled plastics and bio products

Saman Halgamuge
University of Melbourne
saman@unimelb.edu.au

 

  • Development of smart technologies for waste management

     

Shadi Houshyar
RMIT
shadi.houshyar@rmit.edu.au

  • Upcycled textile waste used as construction material in concrete applications

Shanaka Kristombu Baduge
University
kasun.kristombu@unimelb.edu.au

  • Advanced manufacturing of prefabricated SIP systems using recycled plastics and bio products

Susanga Costa
Deakin
susanga.costa@deakin.edu.au

 

  • Waste tyre reinforcement of construction materials within mining operations

Vivian Tam
Western Sydney University
V.Tam@westernsydney.edu.au

 

  • The use of carbon-conditioned recycled aggregate for recycled concrete applications

Weena Lokuge
University of Southern Queensland
Weena.Lokuge@usq.edu.au

 

  • Recycled polypropylene packaging composites  
  • Water based paint waste as an additive to geopolymer concrete
  • Use of expanded polystyrene (EPS) in concrete and lightweight masonry bricks
  • Waste treatment solutions for plastics

Wei Gao
UNSW
w.gao@unsw.edu.au

 

  • Circular economy oriented analysis and design for energy-saving materials and structures

Bhavna Middha
RMIT
bhavna.middha@rmit.edu.au

 

  • Social and policy dimensions of waste minimisation and waste management

     

Bitnami